General Settings

Accessing the General Settings

To access the settings

  1. Open Trimble Connect for Windows.

  2. Click the Settings button located in the upper right corner of the application.

  3. The General Settings tab is the first tab.

User Interface

Tablet vs. Normal Mode

When switching the interface to tablet mode, the all interface is adapted for usage on touch devices. It means that the buttons, scroll bars and tabs become wider to be clicked easily

Navigation Controls Buttons

Navigation control buttons can be shown/hidden.

The navigation controls are found in the upper right corner of the 3D Viewer. They can be used to change navigation mode, rotate the view, zoom in/out, and put the 3D view into fullscreen mode.

By default navigation control buttons are shown.

Show View Toolbar

The View Toolbar (used in the 3D Viewer) can be shown/hidden.

The View Toolbar allows you to control the model transparency, orthogonal or perspective view, toggle clash icons, object links, IFC Spaces, and manage grids.

Enable Highlighting

Highlighting of objects in the model is enabled.

The highlight setting is disabled by default. If value off/on in the registry will be used.

When highlighting is disabled, hovering over an object will not highlight the object anymore and highlights for markups and grids will also be disabled.

If the CTRL key is pressed while hovering, the highlight will be enabled on the fly as long as the CTRL key remains pressed. As soon as the button is released, the highlight will be disabled again.

Point Clouds

A new folder for point clouds conversion can be chosen.

The point clouds conversion folder is set to a default location, i.e:

C:\Users\UserName\AppData\Local\Trimble\Trimble Connect\Import

Language

You can define the language the application is translated in.

When changing the language, a dialog will ask you if you want to restart now or later. The chosen language will be applied only after restarting the software.

Default Server Location

The default server to load projects and create projects in can be defined.

When setting the server location, it will be remembered, and the next time the user creates a new project, it will use the chosen server.

    • Default server location is set to the last chosen location.

    • Default server location setting is now used in automated project creation when opening model file(s) from windows explorer (ex: when a file is open with Trimble Connect for Windows, this will open in the default server location)

Next Topic: Graphics Settings